Recognition & Awards


Every year the Chamber of Commerce celebrates several local businesses, business leaders and community members who help make Terre Haute and the entire Wabash Valley a better place to live and work. Nomination for these awards open up in June, and winners are announced at our Annual Meeting every August.


We are excited to announce NEW awards for the Annual Meeting in 2019. Awards and nomination links are listed below, along with 2018 award winners.


Buidling Business Award FORM, sponsored by Vectren

Building Community Award FORM, sponsored by Indiana State University

YL Award Nomination FORM, sponsored by Wright’s Pool Service and the Wabash Valley Leadership Institute

ATHENA Leadership Award®

The ATHENA Leadership Award®, sponsored Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College and driven by Fuson Automotive, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession, provided valuable services by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community and actively assisted women in realizing their full potential.

ATHENA® is an international program which has honored more than 6,700 individuals in hundreds of cities across the United States, as well as in Canada, China, Russia and the United Kingdom. First presented in the early 1990’s, the ATHENA Leadership Award® has previously honored several outstanding women in the community, including: Sister Barbara Doherty, Marilyn Pendergast, Beth Tevlin, Sydney Bell, Jeanette Winchester, Becky Buse, Marla Flowers, Claudia Tanoos, Patrece Dayton, Sara Smith, Carol Roesch, Dottie King, Sara Arnett, Rachel Leslie, Barbara “Boo” Lloyd, Bernice Helman, Cheri Bradley and Susan Decker.

Vision, A Level Above Award

Vision, A Level Above Award, sponsored by Indiana State University, recognizes an organization or individuals who have made a significant impact on the Terre Haute community.  The specific areas of focus include Arts, Communications, Economic Development and Education.  They also include Natural Environment and Community Appearance as well as Resource and Funding.

Past recipients of this award have included Major General Martin Umbarger, Greg Gibson, Tim Dora, the Terre Haute Children’s Museum Board of Directors, Sisters of Providence, First Financial Bank, Wabash Valley Community Foundation, Keith Ruble, Art Spaces/Arts Illiana, Vigo County School Corporation, Terre Haute Regional Hospital, Vigo Co. Parks & Recreation Dept. – Griffin Bike Park and John McNicohls & Max Miller.

Community Health and Wellness Champion Award

In 2009, the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce formed Better Health Wabash Valley, an initiative charged with improving the overall health and wellness of the community. The inaugural Community Health and Wellness Champion Award, sponsored by Fifth Third Bank, recognizes a business or individual who has demonstrated clear leadership and innovation in this field.

Past recipients of this award have included Saint Mary-of-the Woods College, Hamilton Center, Inc., Harsha Behavioral Center and CASY – Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Coalition.

Young Leader of the Year Award

The Young Leader of the Year award, sponsored by Terre Haute Young Leaders with scholarship support from the Wabash Valley Leadership Institute, is presented to an individual with a demonstrated commitment to attract and retain young talent in the Terre Haute community.

First presented in 2011, the Young Leader of the Year Award recognizes individuals who possess values consistent with those of Terre Haute Young Leaders and an unwavering responsibility to community programs that elevate the overall quality of life in Terre Haute. Previous recipients include Stephanie Pence, Whitney Gurman-Roberts, Ellie Caldwell, Jon Scherle, Courtney Richey, Jenifer Wright, Jennifer Isbell-Scott and Lindsay Hull.

Business, A Level Above Award

The Business, A Level Above award, powered by Vectren, honors an outstanding business of the year in the Wabash Valley, an organization which is committed to being a leader in the community as the pinnacle of business growth and development.

Past recipients have included Sony DADC, Pfizer, Inc., Clabber Girl Corporation, Duke Energy, Union Hospital, GE Aviation, ADVICS Manufacturing, ThyssenKrupp Presta, Thompson Thrift, CSN, LLC, Dorsett Automotive, Joink and Gartland Foundry.

12 Under 40 Award

The 12 Under 40 Award was created through a partnership between the Tribune-Star and the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce and aims to reward young professionals working in the community with recognition for their service.


The idea behind the program is to recognize those making a difference in the community and maybe get others involved as a result.

The 12 Under 40 seeks people who “go above and beyond their call to duty.”