Local businesses, individuals, defense development featured at 105th Annual Meeting

Local businesses, individuals, defense development featured at 105th Annual Meeting

Terre Haute, IN – The Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce took a new approach to its Annual Meeting, celebrating the 105th Annual Meeting for the first time at the Indiana Air National Guard – 181st Intelligence Wing. Tonight’s festivities included the presentation of five prestigious business awards along with a special presentation by the 181st.

The following individuals and companies were recognized:

  • Susan Decker – ATHENA Leadership Award®
  • Max Miller and John McNichols (posthumous) – Vision A Level Above
  • Lindsay Hull – Young Leader of the Year
  • Vigo County Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Coalition/Chances and Services for Youth – Community Health and Wellness Champion
  • Gartland Foundry – Business A Level Above

“We are honored and grateful to work with the 181st on this year’s Annual Meeting,” explains Chamber President David Haynes. “This venue was a wonderful way to highlight the 181st and what it does for our community and country. And as always, our Annual Meeting is the marquee event for both large and small business to gather and celebrate another year of success.”

For more information on the awards and recipients, see the information below:


ATHENA Leadership Award®

The ATHENA Leadership Award®, sponsored Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College and driven by Fuson Automotive, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession, provided valuable services by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community and actively assisted women in realizing their full potential.

ATHENA® is an international program which has honored more than 6,700 individuals in hundreds of cities across the United States, as well as in Canada, China, Russia and the United Kingdom. First presented in the early 1990’s, the ATHENA Leadership Award® has previously honored several outstanding women in the community, including: Sister Barbara Doherty, Marilyn Pendergast, Beth Tevlin, Sydney Bell, Jeanette Winchester, Becky Buse, Marla Flowers, Claudia Tanoos, Patrece Dayton, Sara Smith, Carol Roesch, Dottie King, Sara Arnett, Rachel Leslie, Barbara “Boo” Lloyd, Bernice Helman and Cheri Bradley.


Vision A Level Above

Vision, A Level Above, sponsored by Indiana State University, recognizes an organization or individuals who have made a significant impact on the Terre Haute community.  The specific areas of focus include Arts, Communications, Economic Development and Education.  They also include Natural Environment and Community Appearance as well as Resource and Funding.

Past recipients of this award have included Major General Martin Umbarger, Greg Gibson, Tim Dora, the Terre Haute Children’s Museum Board of Directors, Sisters of Providence, First Financial Bank, Wabash Valley Community Foundation, Keith Ruble, Art Spaces/Arts Illiana, Vigo County School Corporation, Terre Haute Regional Hospital and Griffin Bike Park.


Community Health and Wellness Champion Award

In 2009, the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce formed Better Health Wabash Valley, an initiative charged with improving the overall health and wellness of the community. The inaugural Community Health and Wellness Champion Award, sponsored by Fifth Third Bank, recognizes a business or individual who has demonstrated clear leadership and innovation in this field.

Past recipients of this award have included Saint Mary-of-the Woods College, Hamilton Center, Inc. and the Harsha Behavioral Center.


Young Leader of the Year

The Young Leader of the Year award, sponsored by Terre Haute Young Leaders with scholarship support from the Wabash Valley Leadership Institute, is presented to an individual with a demonstrated commitment to attract and retain young talent in the Terre Haute community.

First presented in 2011, the Young Leader of the Year Award recognizes individuals who possess values consistent with those of Terre Haute Young Leaders and an unwavering responsibility to community programs that elevate the overall quality of life in Terre Haute. Previous recipients include Stephanie Pence, Whitney Gurman-Roberts, Ellie Caldwell, Jon Scherle, Courtney Richey, Jenifer Wright and Jennifer Isbell-Scott.


Business A Level Above Award

The Business A Level Above award, powered by Vectren, honors an outstanding business of the year in the Wabash Valley, an organization which is committed to being a leader in the community as the pinnacle of business growth and development.

Past recipients have included Sony DADC, Pfizer, Inc., Clabber Girl Corporation, Duke Energy, Union Hospital, GE Aviation, ADVICS Manufacturing, ThyssenKrupp Presta, Thompson Thrift, CSN, LLC, Dorsett Automotive and Joink LLC.